Moon Phase| Tsukuyomi

Hello my dears you’ve got Glamour and I’ve got Moon Phase for you! This anime full of Lolita, fan service, and still boasts an air of mystery throughout. All this I discovered watching it on my phone on my way to boot camp…. I giggled after my last meal before sending away my phone, old clothes, and a bit of my old self now let’s talk about what I saw watching it before and after my own transformation. Let’s get going!

Kouhei Morioka wanted nothing more than to be a famous photographer even traveled as far as Germany. Sad thing is the only jobs he can get happen to be from quack magazines because spirits and specters keep showing up in his pictures. Although while investigating a creepy old castle in Germany he spots what he believes is a prime target for his camera lens. After jumping he meets up with a charming young girl wearing cat ears and a white dressed held up in a castle. Of course the flight from the castle was important but let’s be honest the real struggle was the day to day between the battles with vampires. Hasuki learns how to be ‘normal’ while living with Kouhei and his grandfather who have a lot of work to do when it comes to dealing with a spoiled former shut in that happens to have a bossy streak. Of course the house ends up somehow like Tenchi Muyo since the Morioka family starts picking up strays from familiar felines, blonde chesty vampire, small violent vampire, cousin exorcist, and two love struck young priestesses… well it gets to be a pretty full house.

Throughout the series Hasuki learns how to trust people and to ask for help versus manipulating people. While Kouhei teaches her all these lessons he simply learns he’s not as useless as he grew up believing he was. The story also goes through some of the more traumatic experiences people could have bodily torture, guilt, loss, etc… Which I found was interesting in an anime with such a humor streak. Even when the main villain Count Heinrich Von Kinkell tries to force Hasuki to return to the castle she was kept in also forcing an alternate persona in Hasuki rise named Luna.

All in I enjoyed this anime since it was a good balance between humor and misery. Also whenever there was a heavy dose of misery it never really lasted too long. However, even though I do like this series with its humor, torment, and ‘subtle’ use of innuendo it’s a good watch. Although I have to pose a minor warning …. Skip the extra ‘last’ episode. It makes absolutely no sense and my brain melted after attempting to watch it….. Anyways all in all its prescribed but not necessarily hatter approved. With that my dear readers I bid thee goodnight this hatter is out!!

Leave a comment